President's Award

Dear Murphy Middle School PTA,
Congratulations on earning the 2017 President’s List Award!
This is a very prestigious distinction. It’s the first time a membership increase and achieving Good Standing status were both required to earn the award.
I want to offer my heartiest thanks for your commitment to backing the future by increasing membership, a vital and critical component to our success as an association. I also want to commend you on achieving Good Standing Status before the deadline and despite changes to the governing documents review requirements.
I firmly believe that your President’s List Award emblem is a badge of honor. Why? You are one of only 564 PTAs in the state of Texas that earned this award. I hope you will show it off with pride in your PTA emails, social media channels, and website.
I am confident Murphy Middle School PTA will continue to shine for the remaining school year and beyond.
With warm regards,
Lisa Holbrook
Texas PTA President

MMS Wins Three Texas PTA Membership Awards


2017 Environmental Community Award

In October 2017, Murphy Middle School received Plano's 2017 Environmental Community Award in the Existing Environmental Awareness Group category. 


We received a $500 award to be used for future projects and was celebrated at a luncheon hosted by the city.


The Murphy Middle School Environment Club was founded in 2003 and is comprised of students interested in recycling, organic gardening, landscaping with native plants and overall environmental awareness. Sustainability is incorporated into the science curriculum and motivates the students in the club to implement various projects. This year the environmental club collected over 3,400 pounds of clothing and large quantities of electronics to be diverted from the landfill.


Learn more



Texas School To Watch award

Murphy Middle School Re-Designated as a Texas School To Watch In 2014, Murphy Middle School was 1 of only 8 middle schools in the state of Texas to be named a Texas School To Watch.


In March of 2017, we were notified that we are 1 of only 4 schools to receive the honor of re-designation!